2022-23 Academic Year

The Ivan Curry School of Engineering would like to congratulate all of the students who received an award this year. This page contains a list of awards received by students throughout the 2022-23 academic year. It does not include awards presented during spring convocation. Spring convocation awards can be found here.  

A.D. Foulis Design Award:

Each year, nominations are considered for the A.D. Foulis Chair Award for Design. This award is accompanied by a $500 prize to be shared among the recipients. The award is presented to a student, or group of students, in the Ivan Curry School of Engineering at Acadia University that demonstrate diligence, passion, and excellence in Engineering Design.

2022-23 recipients: Nicola Twanow, Josh Perry, Chloe Beaver, and Ben Babineau (Design II)

                              Harish Mahesh, Krishna Venkatesh, Romain Ng Weng Kwang, Ben Ralph Ivan Anton Muthukumar,                                                        and Anthonne Marzyle Barloa (Design I)


Dean's List:

Dean's List distinction is considered annually at the end of the Winter term. To be considered eligible, undergraduate students must achieve a SGPA of 3.70 or above and have completed a minimum of nine credit hours in each Fall and Winter term (minimum of 18 credit hours total).

2022-23 recipients: Camryn Pellerine, Jeremy Crossley, Alexander Spares, Jack Noftall, Caden Nurse, Sarah Goldberg, Kayla Moorcroft, Ryan Betts, Hannah Bryant, Romain Ng Weng Kwang, Jack McDonald, Emma Bickerton, Hannah West, Owen Urquhart, Anthonne Marzyle Barloa, Peize Zhang, Leah Theroux, Kacya Vanhelden, Drew Somers, Josh Perry, Geneva Bond, Destin Martin, Sophie van Exel, Elsie Gillis, Emma Rushton, Noah Spinney, Kerensa Johnson, Gilbert Underwood-Doe, Declan Dreves, Jack Lohnes, Nate Campbell, Jayden Budgell, Scott Long, Bryan Gillis, Nathan Walton, Keegan Cook, Spencer Rhindress, and Dylan Schofield.


Engineers Nova Scotia Award:

The Engineer's Nova Scotia Award is presented each year to a student, graduating with an Engineering Diploma or Certificate from each of the Associated Universities, who best demonstrates the promise of using outstanding abilities to serve society in an ethical manner as a Professional Engineer. The Award will consist of an engraved certificate, a memento, and a cash prize subjected to registration at Dalhousie University's Faculty of Engineering. The Award winner will be sleeted by students of the graduating class in consultation with the Engineering Faculty members and should exhibit the following qualities: Ethical Conduct, Extra Curricular Activities, Industry, Intelligence, Scholastic Achievement, Service to Fellow Students, Technical Skills, and Need. Engineers Nova Scotia desires that the successful candidate be one who will most likely use a combination of the above qualities in an unselfish manner for the benefit of society and for the promotion of the Engineering Profession.

2022-23 recipient: Omar Hammoud


Engineers Nova Scotia Future Engineer Entrance Award:

Awarded each year to students in their first year of engineering at Acadia. The recipient is a student who demonstrates ethical conduct, industry, compassion, creativity, scholastic achievement, and service to their community and involvement in extracurricular activities. The award is presented in consultation with the faculty.

2022-23 recipients: Jack Lohnes, Jack Noftall, Kayla Moorcroft, and Hannah West


Engineers Nova Scotia Scholarship:

The  Engineers Nova Scotia Entrance Scholarship is awarded each year to one entering student from each associated university. The recipient will be a Canadian Citizen who is a superior student and who has demonstrated integrity, ethical conduct, service to fellow students, and participation in extracurricular activities. The selection is made by APENS Student Affairs Committee on the basis of the recommendation of the Director of the School of Engineering and the APENS Student Affairs Representative on Campus.

2022-23 recipient: Josh Perry


Eric S. Eaton Award:

Voted on by the senior engineering students and awarded to the student that best demonstrates active participation in all aspects of engineering student life at Acadia.

2022-23 recipient: Maddy Ross


Frederick C. Turner Award:

Awarded to the first-year engineering student who exemplifies, to the greatest degree, those qualities most cherished by professor Turner: participation, honest effort, positive attitude, and awareness of professional ethics.

2022-23 recipient: Krishna Venkatesh


Frederic H. Sexton Scholarship in Engineering:

An endowed scholarship has been established in memory of Frederic H. Sexton, C.B.E., founder and for forty years President of the Nova Scotia Technical College. It will be awarded to the final-year engineering student with the highest record in the course at Acadia and who commences full-time studies at Dalhousie University's Faculty of Engineering.

2022-23 recipient: Geneva Bond


Golden A Award:

This award is presented annually to those graduation students who have been identified by a committee of students, faculty, and staff as being outstanding among their peers during their time at Acadia. Nominees must be graduating in May 2021 and have: maintained a sound academic standing, displayed outstanding qualities of leadership and character, and made significant contributions to university life at Acadia throughout their years as a student.

2021 recipient: Abigail O'Toole


The Athenaeum/Acadia Alumni Student of the Year:

Created in 1981, The Athenaeum and Acadia Alumni Student of the Year Award recognizes a student who has excelled at Acadia and embodies the Acadia spirit. The award is presented annually to a nominee who has contributed to the Acadia and Wolfville communities through extracurricular and/or academic activities and has worked to further the Acadia spirit. Nominees must be full-time students. Preference will be given to students who will be graduating in May of the current academic year.

2020 recipient: Liam Maaskant ('19)