2022 Engineering Award Winners

The Ivan Curry School of Engineering would like to send a warm congratulations to students who received an award during the 2021-22 academic year. This page contains the list of Applied Science students who received an award/medal at the 2022 Spring Convocation. For a complete list of all award winners, please click HERE.


Ralph B. Mounce Medal in Engineering:

The Ralph B. Mounce Medal in Engineering is awarded to that student who, having completed the Certificate of Applied Science at Acadia University, has the highest average in the program.

2022 recipient: Isabelle Jollymore

2021 recipient: Claire Spearns (Coldbrook, NS)


Engineers Nova Scotia Award:

The Engineer's Nova Scotia Award is presented each year to a student, graduating with an Engineering Diploma or Certificate from each of the Associated Universities, who best demonstrates the promise of using outstanding abilities to serve society in an ethical manner as a Professional Engineer. The Award will consist of an engraved certificate, a memento, and a cash prize subjected to registration at Dalhousie University's Faculty of Engineering. The Award winner will be sleeted by students of the graduating class in consultation with the Engineering Faculty members and should exhibit the following qualities: Ethical Conduct, Extra Curricular Activities, Industry, Intelligence, Scholastic Achievement, Service to Fellow Students, Technical Skills, and Need. Engineers Nova Scotia desires that the successful candidate be one who will most likely use a combination of the above qualities in an unselfish manner for the benefit of society and for the promotion of the Engineering Profession.


2021 recipient: Claire Spearns (Coldbrook, NS)


Engineers Nova Scotia Scholarship:

The  Engineers Nova Scotia Entrance Scholarship is awarded each year to one entering student from each associated university. The recipient will be a Canadian Citizen who is a superior student and who has demonstrated integrity, ethical conduct, service to fellow students, and participation in extracurricular activities. The selection is made by APENS Student Affairs Committee on the basis of the recommendation of the Director of the School of Engineering and the APENS Student Affairs Representative on Campus.

2021 recipient: Ryan McCauley (Salmon River, NS)


Frederic H. Sexton Scholarship in Engineering:

An endowed scholarship has been established in memory of Frederic H. Sexton, C.B.E., founder and for forty years President of the Nova Scotia Technical College. It will be awarded to the final-year engineering student with the highest record in the course at Acadia and who commences full-time studies at Dalhousie University's Faculty of Engineering.

2022 recipient:  Isabelle Jollymore

2021 recipient: Claire Spearns (Coldbrook, NS)


University Scholars:

A candidate for a bachelor's degree shall be granted the designation "University Scholar" provided that the student has received credit for at least 90 hours taken from Acadia, obtained a CGPA of at least 3.5 or all Acadia courses, and obtained no mark below B- for any university course taken at Acadia or elsewhere.

2021 recipients: Maria MacDonnell (Stratford, PEI), Evan Marshall (Halifax, NS), Abigail O'Toole (Gatineau, QC), and Ryan Sawler (Kentville, NS)